A Bee Story

They like blue flowers
also purple, yellow, white
(something about ultraviolet light)
but pink, red, orange are good
and a fragrance, not too sweet
(they love herbs, mint); bees need
a place to drink, shifting shapes
and new blooms as the season
wears on, gentle sun-warming
after a winter’s long rest—

Bees work hard at their harvest
bumbling from instinct to beauty
and perhaps in another life
I could be a bee, happily

 

I spent a LOT of time in the sun yesterday, planting flowers for myself and the bees. I have also been reading this beautiful new book I found at the library, THE BEE-FRIENDLY GARDEN, by Kate Frey and Gretchen LeBuhn.

10 thoughts on “A Bee Story

  1. This made me smile–the reflection on bees and flowers.There’s a reason why the cliche is “busy as a bee,” but at the same time there’s something lulling about watching them.

    (I thought maybe it was inspired by another NPR piece.) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The book has the perfect formula–gorgeous garden pictures and interesting information–so many kinds of bees, I had no idea. I’m glad you got a smile. Now that I read it again, it seems a little sun-baked!

      (Ha! It could have been!)

      Liked by 1 person

I'd be so happy to hear from you.

