and these things should happen in winter

Because I did not know what to say to you, I dreamed
of what I wore. I dreamed of scrubbing rust
from the shower walls, of a gallery opening
in this city of locked doors and shuttered windows.

It was black silk chiffon, in case you wondered
just how far this ego’s awkwardness extends.
 

I was intrigued by this dream symbols prompt at Margo Roby: Wordgathering. Apparently dreaming of clothing means you are concerned with how people perceive you…

11 thoughts on “and these things should happen in winter

    1. Haha, it’s funny how that ended up in the poem…in the “real” dream, I was wearing chiffon to an art gallery, no idea what I wore to scrub. 😉

      Like

  1. I have a blogging friend who often writes her dreams. I love it because it always pulls me in – but also because it makes me feel like I’m not the only one with strange, vivid dreams! Your poem reminds me of her dream writing – it leaves me feeling as though I was just dreaming, sort of otherworldly.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. I think it might have started as part of a different poem, or part of this poem that then morphed into something else. 🙂

      Like

I'd be so happy to hear from you.

