Striking Out at Every Turn

I curse the prompt that asks me to rhyme

It’s a begging for brilliance that makes my head ache

The requisite words lists take time

 

A poem a day, with so much at stake

Is too much to ask of this stumbling hack

I find that my courage will break

 

(My fingers, my eyes, my brain are all slack)

 

Inspired by NaPoWriMo’s prompt for Day 15: Write a poem in terza rima. I did not like it, Sam-I-Am.

About Jennifer G. Knoblock

I am writer, editor, reader; horn-player, singer, ringer; wife, mom, and dreamer. View all posts by Jennifer G. Knoblock

3 responses to “Striking Out at Every Turn

I'd be so happy to hear from you.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 153 other followers

